Phantasy Star Online 2: New Genesis Will Co-Exist With Current Game

Phantasy Star Online 2 New Genesis_02

Yesterday, instead of a new episode for its MMO Phantasy Star Online 2, Sega announced something more interesting. Phantasy Star Online 2: New Genesis appeared to be an overhaul of the current game with improved visuals and menu systems. In a new post today, the development has outlined what makes New Genesis so different.

First off, instead of outright “replacing” PSO2, New Genesis will “co-exist” with it when it launches next year with players able to hop back and forth between the two. Sega acknowledged that the current graphics and game systems would be “unrefined to modern players, especially to those of you whose adventures just began with the North American version. This is why the development team is preparing a massive update instead of a new episode — to give Phantasy Star Online 2 the renewal it deserves.”

Still, there’s a lot that’s changing. The overhauled graphics engine means better character models, more options for character customization (like additional accessories) and finger movement. Character creation details from the base game will be compatible with New Genesis, right down to the emotes, which is also nice. However, you can expect PC requirements to be raised as well.

It’s worth noting that certain character growth elements like level, EXP, Photon Arts, Techniques and Class Skills won’t be shared between the two versions. While Units, Weapons and Mags can be used in New Genesis, their “functions, abilities, and appearances will change” to match its system. Otherwise, when playing the base game, they’ll remain the same.

It’s worth reading up on all the differences and even watching the new trailer below. Phantasy Star Online 2: New Genesis is out in 2021 for Xbox Series X, Xbox One and PC in the West. It will also release for PC, Nintendo Switch and PS4 in Japan.

Original Article

Spread the love
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button